Feels like Home

I spent $15 of my already-depleted “fun money” on two small bags of tea this weekend. At the rate we’re brewing it up, a cup for both of us every night, it’ll barely last the week. And it’s totally worth it.

After I return from a holiday – in this case, our visit to my parents’ over the holidays – my readjustment process seems to follow a predictable pattern. There are one or two ‘sink or swim’ weeks, where I’m just trying to keep my head above water and fold myself back into the ‘dailiness of life’. There’s that awful third week, in which I’m distraught by all the places I’m not, and even my newly-organized vacation pictures seem to tease me with their blue water and bright smiles.

And then the fourth week comes, and the dailiness is no longer overwhelming. Now it’s warm and comfortable, and I remember what it’s like to be at home.

I’ve lived in 5 different places in the past three years. I’ve had my evening drink at the desk chair in my dorm room, and balanced on the single cushion that was the sum total of H1Worker’s living room furniture when i met him, and curled up on our beloved leather sofa. I’ve stared absently at dingy corkboard walls, and golden wood panelled walls, and textured plaster walls. And I’ve breathed in the aroma of crisp white tea, and milky chai, and bitter overbrewed squeeze-every-last-drop-of-caffeine-out-of-it black tea, and our new, transcendent blend of rooibos and mate.

It’s not the place that makes those cups of tea so special, so homey. It’s the ritual – sitting with the silence for a few minutes, belonging in the place that you are. For a while, i’m not coveting that perfect house that’s on the market in our dream neighborhood, or even wishing I was sitting down to dinner with my parents and brother as I was a few weeks ago. I’m just here, belonging.

That $15 tea helped me come back home. For that, it’s worth every penny. The fact that it’s sublimely delicious is just gravy.

One Response to “Feels like Home”

  1. ramadan 2013 Says:

    wonderful issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader.

    What would you suggest about your submit that you made some
    days in the past? Any positive?

Leave a Reply

